Qualifying a diamond: The second of 4C’s (Clarity)


Diamonds that are absolutely clear without inclusions-fractures, scratches, or trace minerals are referred to as flawless and are the rarest.  Most diamonds, like people, have natural blemishes which are physical characteristics of that particular piece just as a persons DNA.  The best way to view these blemishes (inclusions) is with the use of a 10x jeweler’s magnifying loupe.  Even though an inclusion may not be visible to the naked eye it can have an effect because when light enters a diamond it is reflected and refracted.  If anything disrupts the light flow, such as an inclusion, a portion of the light that would be reflected is immediately lost.  Certification societies, notably the GIA (Gemological Institute of America), have standardized the diamond grading system to more accurately describe the 4c’s of a diamond. As it can be seen, below are some examples of the physical requirements attributed to a diamonds clarity.

No internal or external flaws
Internally Flawless
No internal flaws, slight external blemishes
Very, Very Slight Inclusions
Inclusions very difficult to see under 10X
Very Slight Inclusions
VS1, VS2
Inclusions difficult to see under 10X
Slight Inclusions
SI1, SI2, SI3
Inclusions easy to see under 10X magnification
and might be visible to the naked eye
I1, I2, I3
Inclusions that are visible to the naked eye


Tomorrow we will cover the third of the 4C’s in our diamond education series. Its always a good thing to know a little something especially about jewelry. Please feel free to like our page and leave any questions or comments.

Live, Life, Lamour